India's Parliament - Narendra Modi and portfolio of ministers

India’s 15th Prime Minister – Narendra Modi (Full list of cabinet ministers)

After the most spectacular Lok Sabha elections in the largest democracy of the world, Narendra Modi has become the 15th Prime Minister of India after a stunning victory. Along with a council of ministers of 44 members, Narendra Modi took oath on 26th May 2014 making it one of the remarkable events of Indian Democracy. He received a standing ovation and rounds of applause by one and all in the swearing in ceremony which was attended by over 5,000 guests and dignitaries from the SAARC nations.

List of Cabinet Ministers with Portfolios

With the most awaited moment of announcement of portfolios and power centres, here is a list of all major ministries:

Narendra Modi – Prime Minister, Personnel, Public Grievances and Pensions, Department of Atomic Energy Department of Space, All important policy issues and all other portfolios not allocated to any Minister

  1. Sushma Swaraj – Ministry of External Affairs
  2. Rajnath Singh – Ministry of Home Affairs
  3. Arun Jaitley – Ministry of Defence and Finance
  4. Nitin Gadkari – Surface Transport and Shipping
  5. Venkaiah Naidu – Urban Development and Parliamentary Affairs
  6. Ananth Kumar — Parliamentary affairs and additional charge of chemicals and fertilizers
  7. Sadanand Gowda — Railways Ministry
  8. Maneka Gandhi — Women and Child Development Ministry
  9. Najma Heptulla — Ministry of Minorities
  10. Smriti Irani – Human Resource Development Ministry
  11. Ram Vilas Paswan — Food and civil supplies ministry
  12. Uma Bharati — Union minister for water resources and Ganga
  13. Jual Oram — Cabinet minister for tribal affairs
  14. Gopinath Munde – Rural Development Ministry
  15. Kalraj Mishra – Micro, Small and Medium Enterprises
  16. Ravi Shankar Prasad – Communications and Information Technology, Law and Justice
  17. Ashok Gajapathi Raju Pusapati – Civil Aviation
  18. Anant Geete – Heavy Industries and Public Enterprises
  19. Harsimrat Kaur Badal – Food Processing Industries
  20. Narendra Singh Tomar – Mines, Steel, Labour and Employment
  21. Radha Mohan Singh – Agriculture
  22. Thaawar Chand Gehlot – Social Justice and Empowerment
  23. Dr Harsh Vardhan – Health and Family Welfare

Ministers of State – Independent Charge

24. General (Retd) V K Singh – Development of North Eastern Region (Independent Charge), External Affairs, Overseas Indian Affairs

25. Inderjit Singh Rao – Planning (Independent Charge), Statistics and Programme Implementation (Independent Charge), Defenc

26. Santosh Kumar Gangwar – Textiles (Independent Charge), Parliamentary Affairs, Water Resources, River Development and Ganga Rejuvenation

27. Shripad Yesso Naik – Culture (Independent Charge), Tourism (Independent Charge)

28. Dharmendra Pradhan – Petroleum and Natural Gas (Independent Charge)

29. Sarbananda Sonowal – Skill Development, Entrepreneurship, Youth Affairs and Sports (Independent Charge)

30. Prakash Javadekar – Information and Broadcasting (Independent Charge), Environment, Forest and Climate Change (Independent Charge), Parliamentary Affairs

31. Piyush Goyal – Power (Independent  Charge), Coal (Independent Charge), New and Renewable Energy (Independent Charge)

32. Jitendra Singh – Science and Technology (Independent Charge), Earth Sciences (Independent Charge), Prime Minister Office, Personnel, Public Grievances & Pensions, Department of Atomic Energy, Department of Space

33. Nirmala Sitharaman – Commerce and Industry (Independent Charge), Finance, Corporate Affairs

Ministers of State

34. G M Siddeshwara – Civil Aviation

35. Manoj Sinha – Railways

36. Nihalchand – Chemicals and Fertilizers

37. Upendra Kushwaha – Rural Development, Panchayati Raj, Drinking Water and Sanitation

38. Radhakrishnan P – Heavy Industries and Public Enterprises

39. Kiren Rijiju – Home Affairs

40. Krishan Pal – Road Transport and Highways, Shipping

41. Dr Sanjeev Kumar Balyan – Agriculture, Food Processing Industries

42. Mansukhbhai Dhanjibhai Vasava – Tribal Affairs

43. Raosaheb Dadarao Danve – Consumer Affairs, Food and Public Distribution

44. Vishnu Deo Sai – Mines, Steel, Labour and Employment

45. Sudarshan Bhagat – Social Justice and Empowerment

In the Modi council of ministers, there are 7 women, out of whom 6 are cabinet ministers. Murli Manohar Joshi and L K Advani however are not a part of the cabinet, thus defining a generational shift in the 2014 Lok Sabha while being accomodative of including Sushma Swaraj and Venkaiah Naidu.

All the eight SAARC leaders along with the President of Mauritius have attended the swearing in ceremony.





Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *