Hindi Diwas

14th September every year is celebrated as Hindi Diwas all over India, to commemorate the historic event when Hindi (in Devanagari script) was accepted as the official language by the Constituent Assembly on September 14, 1949.

Hindi is the fourth most spoken language in the world spoken by around 258 million people. To promote the “matrabhasha” its celebrated with different events and competitions in schools, colleges, government offices and by various community groups.

What’s happening across India?

Hindi Diwas celebrations in Vigyan Bhawan, New Delhi, presentation of Hindi Award by President Pranab Mukherjee.

Credit: India Today

Which other countries have “Hindi” as one of the official languages?

Fiji (Republic of Fiji) – has 3 official languages including Hindi
English, Fijian, Fiji Hindi

Notable Events

  • The Modi led NDA government has removed the names of Indira Gandhi and Rajiv Gandhi from the Hindi Diwas Awards.
  • In an order dated 25 March 2015, the Ministry of Home Affairs has changed name of two awards given annually on Hindi Diwas
  • ‘Indira Gandhi Rajbhasha Puraskar’ instituted in 1986 changed to ‘Rajbhasha Kirti Puraskar’
  • ‘Rajiv Gandhi Rashtriya Gyan-Vigyan Maulik Pustak Lekhan Puraskar’ changed to “Rajbhasha Gaurav Puraskar.

Related Constitution Article

  • Official Language policy of the Union is given in details under
    Article 120 (Part-5),
    Article 210 (Part-6),
    Article 343,
    Article 344 and
    Articles 348 to 351

Jump to : Lesser known interesting facts about Hindi



Print Friendly, PDF & Email