Jagadish Shettar - Karnataka's new Chief Minister

Jagdish Shettar sworn in CM

Jagadish Shettar was sworn in Chief Minister of Karnataka on Thursday along with a full-fledged team of 33 Ministers. The Fifty six-year-old Lingayat leader from north Karnataka is the 21st Chief Minister of the State and the third to head the Bhartiya Janata Party government. Alongwith, two Deputy Chief Ministers, K.S. Eshwarappa and R. Ashok were also sworn in.

He will have a tenure of only about 10 months if the Assembly runs its term till May 2013, as the BJP goverment here came into power in 2008. This is the first time that the State has got two Deputy Chief Ministers. Five previous governments had one Deputy Chief Minister each.

The oath-taking ceremony was attended by D.V. Sadananda Gowda, who quit to make way for Mr. Shettar.



Print Friendly